Award Winners 2013

Enfranchisement and Right To Manage Awards 2013 – Winners Announced!

The Enfranchisement and Right to Manage Awards 2013 (the ERMAs), is now firmly established in the industry calendar for recognising professional excellence in leasehold reform work. This was not only the 5th year of the ERMA’s, but also 20 years since the enactment of the Leasehold Reform, Housing and Urban Development Act 1993 which has had a huge influence on this area of practice. The awards were presented at a ceremony in London on June 6th 2013.

We are excited to announce the list of winners and highly commended, shortlisted from all entries received.

The Winners are:

Barrister of the Year
Sponsored by

Pemberton Greenish logo

Winner: Stephen Jourdan QC, Falcon Chambers

Highly Commended: Jonathan Gaunt QC, Falcon Chambers

Finalists: Justin Bates of Arden Chambers, Jonathan Gaunt QC of Falcon Chambers, Mark Loveday of Tanfield Chambers and Stephen Jourdan QC of  Falcon Chambers

Chambers of the Year
Sponsored by


Winner: Falcon Chambers

Highly Commended: Tanfield Chambers

Finalists: Tanfield ChambersFalcon Chambers

Solicitor of the Year
Sponsored by Langley Taylor

Winner: Anna Favre, Pemberton Greenish

Highly Commended: Tim Morgan, ODT Solicitors James Compton, Comptons Solicitors Jeremy Hudson, Speechly Bircham

Finalists: James Compton of Comptons Solicitors, Anna Favre of Pemberton Greenish, Jonathan Turton of Boodle Hatfield, Natasha Rees of Forsters, Tim Morgan of ODT Solicitors, Caroline Anstis of Piper Smith Watton, Mark Chick of Bishop and Sewell, Roger Hardwick of Brethertons, Tina George of DMH Stallard and Jeremy Hudson of Speechly Bircham

Solicitors Firm of the Year
Sponsored by

Tanfield logo 2014

Winner: Rooks Rider

Highly Commended: Boodle Hatfield

Finalists: Speechly Bircham, Bishop and Sewell, Boodle Hatfield, Rooks Rider, Comptons Solicitors and JPC Law

Valuer of the Year
Sponsored by

Winner: Chris Carter-Pegg, Gerald Eve

Highly Commended: Justin Bennett, Langley Byers Bennett

Finalists: Chris Carter-Pegg of Gerald Eve, David Goldstone of Capital Leasehold, Justin Bennett of Langley Byers Bennett and George Pope of George Pope Leasehold Enfranchisement

Valuers of the Year
Sponsored by
Wallace LLP

Winner: myleasehold

Highly Commended: Cluttons

Finalists: Carter Jonas, Capital Leasehold, myleasehold, Cluttons, Marr-Johnson Stevens and Langley Byers Bennett

Regional Professional of the Year

Winner: Roger Hardwick, Brethertons Finalists: Brethertons Solicitors, TWM Solicitors and ODT Solicitors

Young Professional of the Year
Sponsored by


Winner: Lubna Islam, Child and Child

Highly Commended: Marie Joyce, Marr-Johnson & Stevens Yashmin Mistry, JPC Law Naomi Heathcote, Speechly Bircham

Finalists: Amy Chance of Pemberton Greenish, James Compton of Comptons Solicitors, Marie Joyce of Marr-Johnson & Stevens, Yashmin Mistry of JPC Law, Roger Hardwick of Brethertons, Lubna Islam of Child and Child, Katie Cohen of Child and Child, Naomi Heathcote of Speechly Bircham and Tim Sheridan of Sheridans Estates

Expert Witness of the Year
Sponsored by
Speechly Bircham logo

Winner: Justin Bennett, Langley Byers Bennett

Highly Commended: James Wilson, W.A. Ellis

Finalists: James Wilson of W.A. Ellis, Justin Bennett of Langley Byers Bennett, Kevin Ryan of Carter Jonas and Prosper Marr-Johnson of Marr-Johnson & Stevens

Outstanding Achievement Award
Sponsored by

WAEllis logo

Winner: George Pope, George Pope Leasehold Enfranchisement 

Judging Process Each finalist will receive a mention at the Awards. There will be one winner for each award category announced at the awards ceremony. Judges may make a Highly Commended award at their discretion. The judges decision is final and no correspondence will be entered into.

Benchmarking Process
News on the Block contacted companies and asked them which companies or individuals they would expect to see (or not see!) shortlisted in the various categories for this year’s awards. The companies contacted participated on the basis of confidentiality, and came from a variety of disciplines: barristers, solicitors, valuers, freeholders, leaseholders etc. This exercise helped inform the independent judging panel and protected the integrity of the awards.

The Awards are kindly supported by the Association of Leasehold Enfranchisement Practitioners.